• Uniting the South African Construction Industry

Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal held its Annual Awards on 7 October 2022 at the Premier Hotel Umhlanga. This glamorous event celebrated the members of the Association for excelling in Construction and Health and Safety.

The President of Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal, Marcus Peter Gonzalves applauded all the entrants and stated that the Association proudly hosted its Annual Awards to celebrate excellence in the construction industry, thereby showcasing the hard work, dedication, high standards and superior quality demonstrated by its members. “All of these ingredients culminate in this celebration of construction excellence, a culture which is continuously promoted by the Association,” said Gonzalves. He reiterated that these are challenging economic times and that all stakeholders should join hands to resuscitate the construction industry.

(L to R) Vikashnee Harbhajan-Executive Director: Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal; Sanjeev Nirghin-Divisional Managing Director, KZN Building: WBHO Construction KZN; Marcus Peter Gonzalves- President: Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal

Vikashnee Harbhajan, the Executive Director of the Association was pleased to take members through this journey of excellence and presented the recipients of the 2022 awards for excellence in Construction and Health and Safety. She added that the Association commended its members for maintaining a high standard of quality and workmanship, and that those who aspire towards Health and Safety excellence save lives, and the Association proudly honoured its members for displaying such high levels of commitment.

Special awards were presented for outstanding and positive contribution to the KwaZulu-Natal construction industry. The Association congratulates the recipients of the following special awards:

  • Award of Merit: Dirk Jacobus Francois Louw from MET Builders
  • Supplier of the Year: RotoTank KZN
  • Woman in Construction: Sarah Unsworth from Southern Natal Construction
  • Health and Safety Person of the Year: Dr Joseph D. Khoza from WBHO Construction (Pty) Ltd
  • Supreme Award for Health and Safety: Form-Scaff Durban South
  • Supreme Award for Excellence in Construction: Smith and Winfield
  • Overall Winner: WBHO Construction KZN

The Overall Winner award is presented to a Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal member company for demonstrating overall excellence in both the Association’s Excellence in Construction and Health and Safety competitions. The Association congratulates WBHO for clinching this award for the 2nd year in a row.


Overall Winner-WBHO Construction KZN

The Association extends its sincere gratitude to its marketing partners for the event:

  • Thekweni Reinforcing (Pty) Ltd
  • Builders
  • Patcon Building & Civil Engineering Contractors (Pty) Ltd
  • Khonzi Trading & Projects
  • Grinaker LTA
  • Stefanutti Stocks Coastal

The Association salutes all its members!

For enquiries, please contact:  

Vikashnee Harbhajan

Executive Director

031 266 7070

082 853 9644